Ten

Posted: September 11, 2011 in EMS, Everyone, Family, Geocaching
Tags: , , ,

Ten years have passed.

Ten years ago today everything changed.

Ten years ago, at quarter of nine in the morning, I was in Chemistry class. Doing what every sixteen year guy was doing in class, checking out the girl in class wearing a shear shirt (I remember who it was, but will respect privacy.) She had come in after the period break, saying someone just flew a jet into the World Trade Center. My first thought  was “WTF is the world trade center?”, then I thought someone had flown a jet fighter into the building. I was wrong. We talked the teacher into letting us go down to the library instead of doing a lab, to watch the TVs down there. It was then that I saw the second jet fly into the other building. Everything changed. We watched as the towers fell.

I got home that day, after watching the news all day at school. No one was home but my Uncle Rick visiting from Mojave with his camper. First thing he said was “Fucking Ragheads are going to pay.” And we continued to watch the news.

Coincidently, it was also my first day, at my first job, working by myself in the kitchen of McDonalds. It was a slow night.

That day forever changed everything, how we fly, how we travel, how we view others everything. Friends and family started enlisting. I am proud of each and everyone of them. I lost one friend in Iraq, and another will never be the same after Afghanistan.

Now, now I put others before myself, doing what 343 firefighters and EMS professionals did on the infamous day. Ten years ago I never would haven even contemplated it.

9 11

Leave a Reply

